For Better or For Worse….

Me + Detroit = ♥ ♥ ♥

Having lived in the city my whole life (save 1 yr of college in Chicago and a brief -and yet still too long- stint in Royal Oak), I have developed quite a love/hate relationship with Detroit. I compare Detroit, and my relationship with it, to the life of James Brown and his “Wife” – ‘A bizarre stretch’ you say to yourself….not so much…. see

The long and short of James Brown:

James, in his prime, was an example, an icon, a treasure. He entertained…he sparkled…he captivated. Yes, JB still had his ghetto tendencies and parts, but he was generally commonly accepted as a good thing. As the years went on and James aged- he got a little frayed around the edges- there was trouble with the law, drug and alcohol problems were more visible. But he was still a jewel, still full of character. However, in letting his ghetto-side hang out, some people lose faith, move on, disassociate. But some hang on- hoping he’ll make a comeback. But he doesn’t, not at that point , he continues downhill. He can still dress up and sparkle a few times a year, but for the most part his age and run-down-ness are too apparent for many former fans to look passed.  More people lose faith, JB continues downhill. I ( this lady ) observe the way JB used to be- educating myself, admiring him for what he used to be and what he is now. I don’t lose faith, I help where I can, I stick around. I love him in spite of, and because of, his ghetto real-ness and soul.  We have great times- but we also have this love/hate thing going on. All-in-all I continue to try to appreciate who he was and who he is now. Sometimes I need a break, but most of the time, I’m happy. Sometimes James shows me the back of his hand…sometimes I have to kick him in the nuts, but there’s love there, people. Oh yeah. Lots of it.

How is that like Detroit??? Read on….

 

The long and short of Detroit:

Detroit, in it’s prime, was an example, an icon, a treasure. It entertained…it sparkled…it captivated. Yes, Detroit still had his ghetto tendencies and parts, but it was generally commonly accepted as a good thing. As the years went on and Detroit aged- it got a little frayed around the edges- there was trouble with the law, drug and alcohol problems were more visible. But it was still a jewel, still full of character. However, in letting it’s ghetto-side hang out, some people lose faith, move on, disassociate. But some hang on- hoping Detroit will make a comeback. But it doesn’t, not at that point , it continues downhill. Detroit can still dress up and sparkle a few times a year, for the auto-show, or the superbowl, but for the most part it’s age and run-down-ness are too apparent for many former residents to look passed.  More people lose faith and leave, Detroit continues downhill. I (Maggie) observe the way Detroit used to be- educating myself, admiring it for what it used to be and what it is now. I don’t lose faith, I help where I can, I stick around. I love Detroit in spite of, and because of, it’s ghetto real-ness and soul.  We have great times- but we also have this love/hate thing going on. All-in-all I continue to try to appreciate what Detroit was and what it is now. Sometimes I need a break, so I go to Memphis or up-north, but most of the time, I’m happy. Sometimes Detroit shows me the back of his hand, like when I have to pay double what I should for car insurance, for example…sometimes I have to kick it in the nuts (coming *this* close to buying a house out of the city), but there’s love there, people. Oh yeah. Lots of it.

See how alike the two scenerios are? No? Oh. Okay. 

Well, in any case I adore this city- I adore it’s ugly and it’s pretty, I love it’s good and it’s bad. It’s a part of me (I have Faygo running through my veins).

I carry my camera everywhere (don’t mug me) and capture lots of ridiculousness- this blog is a place for me to put it.

You know how when you love something a lot- you can make fun of it in a very loving way? That’s Me and Detroit. Enjoy! 

 

One Response to “For Better or For Worse….”

  1. Alex Says:

    I read about your feelings on JB and was interested, read on and was suprised to see what you did with that scenario. I look forward to reading more nonsense from you Maggie. See you soon

Leave a Reply

